2021-2022 BBMHA AWARD WINNERS, News (Blyth Brussels Minor Hockey)

News Article
News Article Image
Apr 07, 2022 | WEBSITE | 669 views
Good Evening Members:
Here are your 2021 - 2022 Blyth Brussels Crusaders Award Winners:

U7 Black 

Most Improved – Anna Lapp 

Most Dedicated – Matthew Abell 

Most Sportsmanlike – Gracelyn Howson 


U7 Burgandy 

Most Improved – Henk Brennan 

Most Dedicated – Wes McDonald 

Most Sportsmanlike – Lexi Greidanus 


U9 Rep 

Most Improved – Hudson Smith 

Most Dedicated – Ashlyn Greidanus 

Most Sportsmanlike – Kaleb Nurse 


U9 LL 

Most Improved – Sawyer McCall 

Most Dedicated – Lauren Wharton 

Most Sportsmanlike – Lauralei Shortreed 


Luke Anderson Memorial Award 


“Hakuna Matata” 

This was Luke’s favorite song form the Lion King, it means no worries for the rest of your days. 

Luke was born November 2nd, 1987 and started playing hockey in 1991.  His three older brothers Kyle, Adam and Cody were his biggest fans.

 The next few years Luke became known for his “sweeping turns to build up momentum to charge into the opposition territory”. 

The highlight of Luke’s Novice career was a playoff game in Mitchell when he scored five goals. 

Luke was keen to play hockey and his teammate Brett Bean described him this way “Eat, Sleep and play hockey that was Luke”. 

If you didn’t see him play hockey on the ice at the Blyth Arena you would see him playing in the Lobby. 

Luke died in a bicycle-truck accident on April 26, 1997.  He is missed by everyone at the Blyth Arena. 

Sweaters for the Blyth Novice team with a gold cross were donated by Luke’s parents Ken and Diane in memory of Luke. 

Each year a trophy is presented to the most keen and dedicated player on the Novice Team in memory of Luke.  

This year’s recipients are:

U9 Rep - Canon Beuermann 

U9 LL – Gavin Gross 



U11 Rep 

Most Improved – Braxton Stryker 

Most Dedicated – Connor Kellington 

Most Sportsmanlike – Cole Greydanus 


U11 Black 

Most Improved – Foster Blake 

Most Dedicated – Nate Baillie 

Most Sportsmanlike – Adel Fischer 


U11 Burgandy 

Most Improved – Carter Pope 

Most Dedicated – Summer Shannon 

Most Sportsmanlike – Hayden Benedict 



Tom Schauber Memorial Award 

This award is dedicated to Tom Schauber.  Tom was a great hockey parent, very upbeat and always willing to get involved.  He loved hockey and especially supported the kids hockey program.  This award is given to the most improved atom player in honour of Tom.  Congratulations to all the recipients. 

U11 Rep – Lincoln Bolinger 
U11 LL Black - Ethan Boyer 
U11 LL Burgandy - Evan Egli


U13 Rep  

Most Improved – Tyson Greidanus 

Most Dedicated – Justin Fleet 

Most Sportsmanlike – Damon Shannon 


U13 LL 

Most Improved – Cole Mason 

Most Dedicated – Colin Hallahan 

Most Sportsmanlike – Aiden Hickey 




Dan Beuermann Memorial Award 

Dan Beuermann was a young man who always loved his friends, family and HOCKEY.  His greatest fan was his Grandpa “Doc”.  He had his share of broken bones during his hockey days but that never stopped him from playing the “Greatest Canadian Game”.  Dan was a dedicated hockey player.  He very rarely missed a practice or game and was always keen to put his effort on the ice.  Dan and his three younger brothers all played, so everyone knew where to find the Beuermann family Friday night.  Yes, your right the BM&G arena from 4:30 – 10:00pm. He would have been proud to see how hard you Peewees worked to better your game.  Go Blyth Brussels go! 

This year's recipients are:

U13 Rep – Dylan Lee 

U13 LL – Liam Fischer 



U15 Rep 

Most Improved – Graham Nesbit 

Most Dedicated – Luke Fischer 

Most Sportsmanlike – Peter Albers 


U15 LL 

Most Improved – Sheldon Lee 

Most Dedicated – Reed Fischer 

Most Sportsmanlike – Jack Riegling 




Jeremy Austin Most Dedicated Award 

A little info on how this award came about...On Feb 24th 1999 Jeremy and his twin brother Scott were on a skiing trip with the public school at Talisman.  This day Jeremy was injured in a snowboarding accident and passed away from his injuries.  The Blyth Bantam Bulldogs were one game away from winning the WOAA.  The final game was postponed one week for the team to put to rest their teammate and decide as a team whether they could continue because just the week before a mother of one of their team mates had also passed away in a car accident.  The past two Friday nights these young boys had spent at a funeral home. They were just left breathless and not knowing which way to turn.  We as a family talked it over and encouraged the team to continue as that is what Jeremy would want and his brother Scott said “no he was going to play”. He and Jeremy had always played on the same line as teammates. These boys lived for their hockey.  The team went on to win the WOAA and to be runner up in All Ontario. The team played with their hearts on their sleeves that year but played as a team keeping each other strong.   We the Austin family decided to sponsor an award in memory of Jeremy. This award should be given to a player who is an all around team player. Is there to do his part as a player no matter what it should be. Who supports his fellow teammates. He plays to the best of his personal ability and represents his team well, both on and off the ice.  This award has been handed out to many well deserving young players over the past years and we hope to continue to hand out for many more to come. 

This year's recipients for the Jeremy Austin Award is:
U15 Rep – Jackson Hallahan
U15 LL – Taylor Wharton 


U18 Rep 

Most Improved – Troy Coultes 

Most Dedicated – Joel Nesbit 

Most Sportsmanlike – Carson Bromley 


U18 LL 

Most Improved – Keon Paolo 

Most Dedicated – Carson Bromley 

Most Sportsmanlike – Lucas Carter 


Bokhout Hesselwood Dynamic Duo Team Players


This award is presented in memory ofJohn Bokhout and Blake Hesselwood former Blyth Bulldog Minor Hockey Players.  John and Blake were friends on and off the ice.They complimented each other in many aspects of their lives.  John played forward, Blake played defense.  They loved the game of hockey.  John excelled in setting up the plays, with his stick handling and skating skills.  Blake always stood his ground as a solid defenseman, but loved to take his chance when the opportunity came to make a breakaway into the oppositions end.  John always dropped back to cover the defense position.  They loved to make things happen together.  This is for two players that work together on the ice to make things happen, love the game, and have FUN playing it.

The Bokhout Hesselwood Dynamic Duo Award goes to: 

U18 Rep - Colby Dale & Jackson McDonald –Inglis 


U18 LL - Brett McCutcheon & Tyler Groves 




Don Higgins Goalie Award 

Don grew up playing goalie in the Brussels Minor Hockey Association.  At a young age he showed no fear stopping pucks.  One of his coaches, Wayne Lowe would always say “your not going to get any better sitting on the bench”  Don took those words and through his strong work ethic and desire to improve continued to strengthen his game.  He went on to play Junior C for the Wingham Ironmen after minor hockey.  His Ironmen jersey hangs in the North Huron Wescast Community Complex in tribute to him.   In addition to his natural abilities and talents Don also showed great sportsmanship.  He always respected coaches and referees and Don always made time for teammates.  Whatever it took he was willing to help out and would not hesitate to put others before himself.   This award in honour of Don represents some great qualities of courage, respect and friendship among the hockey community.  

Congratulations to this year’s recipient:                                                 

U13 Rep - Triston Piper 



Congratulations to all recipients!

Thank you,

BBMHA Executive